A short musical interlude

Can I interrupt this blog a moment, just to say:

When you have just had the most intensely rubbish and stressful ten days of your life, and a maximum of three hours’ sleep the night before, and you walk into a room full of people who are worshipping their hearts out, to this song for instance…

…it’s not that it all goes away, it’s just that you know God is with you in it, and you discover that it’s possible to smile and clap and sing and cry all at the same time.

I told you God was subversive. Normal service to be resumed next week, when I will tell you what a great subversive suburban weekend I had last weekend, if I can still remember any of it.

In my wrestling and in my doubts
In my failures You won’t walk out
Your great love will lead me through
You are the peace in my troubled sea
You are the peace in my troubled sea

My lighthouse, My lighthouse
Shining in the darkness, I will follow You
My Lighthouse, My Lighthouse
I will trust the promise, You will carry me safe to shore

Leave a Reply

